Search and verify licenses

Alabama Driver License

To obtain a driver’s license in Alabama you should apply to the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency.

  • Firstly, decide what type of license you need. To drive a private car you can with the license Class D. To ride a motorcycle you will need to obtain a license Class M
  • If you have already decided what you need, schedule an appointment at your local ALEA office, submit the required documents, make the payments and pass the exams
  • If you are 15-16 years old, you can apply for the Learner License (Permit). It will be valid for 4 years. With this permit, you can drive supervised at all times by a parent in the front seat or with a licensed driver, who is 21 years or older
  • Then, after six months you can apply for the restricted license. It has several restrictions that you can find below
  • The permanent and unrestricted license you can obtain when you are 18. IF you already have a restricted one, you can apply for the unrestricted one. Otherwise, you will need to pass exams, including a driving test

For more information, you can use the Alabama driver’s license lookup on the license.org website.

Alabama Drivers License Classification

In the state of Alabama, for each license type, there’s a corresponding type of instruction permit. The most common and usual type of DL is class D.

Class D driver license

In short, with the Class D license, you can drive a private car.

Class A driver license

To clarify, this license allows you to operate any combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 26,001 pounds or more. Moreover, Class A allows you to tow vehicles which GCWR is over 10,000 pounds.

Class B driver license

To clarify, this license allows you to operate any combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 26,001 pounds or more. But, unlike the Class A driver’s license Class B doesn’t allow you to tow a vehicle with a GVWR of more than 10,000 pounds.

Class C driver license

In short, this DL allows you to operate any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles that either is designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver or is used in the transportation of hazardous materials.

Class M driver license

In short, with your Class M driver’s license you can drive a motorcycle.

Class V driver license

In short, Class V is for driving a water vessel.

Steps to obtain an Alabama driver’s license

To obtain an adult or unrestricted driver license you should:

  • Firstly apply for the Learner License (Permit). You can apply for this permit when you are 15. The permit allows you to drive supervised at all times by a parent in the front seat or with a licensed driver, who is 21 years or older
  • Secondly, apply for the restricted (Provisional) license. If you are 16-17 years and you already have a learner license, you can go to stage 2 of the Graduated Driver License Program and apply for a restricted (provisional license)
  • After that, you can apply for an unrestricted driver’s license. If you are 17 and have a provisional license you can apply for the unrestricted driver’s license. But if you don’t have a restricted one, you will have to wait till you become 18

Steps to Obtain a Learner License

  1. Firstly, apply for the license. You should do it in person. So, schedule your appointment online at least 48 hours before the preferred date
  2. Secondly, pass a vision test. You should have 20/40 acuity with both eyes and a horizontal temporal field of at least 110 degrees from the center
  3. After that, pass the knowledge test. You should pay $5 by cash or money order
  4. When you pass the test you should pay $36.25 license fee and take your initial DL. But, it will be valid for 4 years

The required documents

Most importantly, bring the following documents with you:

  • Two forms of identification. At least one of which should contain a photograph (one form must be from the “primary” list, in addition to the Social Security card). Or, three forms of non-photo identification (one form must be from the “primary” list, in addition to the Social Security card)
  • Social Security Card
  • School enrollment form (Enrollment/Exclusion form (DL1/93) or GED or Graduation certificate)

Steps to obtain a restricted license

  1. Firstly, you should already obtain a learner license for at least 6 months
  2. Secondly, complete a minimum of 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice. Moreover, submit the verification form provided by the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency that should be signed by a parent, grandparent or a certified driving instructor
    On the other hand, you can submit a completion form supplied by the State Department of Education (SDE) verifying that you have completed an SDE-approved driver education course.
  3. After that schedule and pass road skills exams. If you have the signed permission of your parent you can schedule and pass the exam

You will not need to pay for the restricted license if you already have a learner one. And, this one also, will be valid for 4 years.

The required documents

  1. Two forms of identification. At least one of which should contain a photograph (one form must be from the “primary” list, in addition to the Social Security card). Or, three forms of non-photo identification (one form must be from the “primary” list, in addition to the Social Security card)
  2. Social Security Card
  3. School enrollment form (Enrollment/Exclusion form (DL1/93) or GED or Graduation certificate)

Provisional License Restrictions

It is not allowed to drive between midnight and 6 a.m. except in the following situations:

  • You are driving to or from school, work, or a religious organization
  • You are driving because of an emergency
  • You are accompanied by a parent or licensed driver at least 21 years of age

Moreover, you may not have more than one passenger in the vehicle other than your parents. And, you can’t use any handheld communication devices.

Steps to Obtain an Unrestricted Driver’s License

If you are 17 and you already have a restricted driver’s license for at least 6 months, you can visit your local Driver License Office pay the $31.25 license fee, and obtain your unrestricted DL.
But, if you don’t have a restricted one, you will have to wait till you become 18 and follow the steps below.

  1. Firstly, apply for the license. You should do it in person. So, schedule your appointment online at least 48 hours before the preferred date
  2. Secondly, pass a vision test. You should have 20/40 acuity with both eyes and a horizontal temporal field of at least 110 degrees from the center
  3. After that, pass the knowledge test. You should pay $5 by cash or money order
  4. Then, take a driving test. You should provide a license for the car you are going to drive

You should pay $36.25 for your license.

The required documents

  • Two forms of identification. At least one of which should contain a photograph (one form must be from the “primary” list, in addition to the Social Security card). Or, three forms of non-photo identification (one form must be from the “primary” list, in addition to the Social Security card)
  • Social Security Card. But, you can also provide a Medicare/Medicaid identification card (if your SSN is followed by the letter “A”). U.S. military form DD 214, or a W2 tax form
  • School enrollment form (Enrollment/Exclusion form (DL1/93) or GED or Graduation certificate if you are 18 to 19 years)

Alabama Driver’s License Renewal

You should renew your DL every 8 years.

There are three options to renew: in person, by mail, and online.

Renew in person

The license may be renewed at any time within 60 days before expiration at the Offices of Probate Judge, License Commissioner’s Offices.
So, to renew your license in person bring with you:

  1. Your current AL driver’s license
  2. Pay the license renewal fee, which is around $36.25

If your license expired more than 3 years ago, you’ll have to take and pass the written and driving tests again.

Renew by mail

In short, to renew by email you should fill the renewal application form, pay the renewal fee and send by mail with the other required documents.

Renew Online

To renew online:

  1. First, go to ALEA online services
  2. Secondly, submit your current driver’s license and SSN details
  3. And finally pay the DL renewal fee

You will be given a temporary license until your license is ready.

Alabama drivers license replacement

In the state of Alabama, it is allowed to drive without an AL DL for 30 days.
But, if you are moving to the state of Alabama you can transfer your driver’s license to Alabama.
For that:

  1. First, visit your local ALEA office to transfer your DL
  2. Secondly, pay the $5 replacement fee

Required documents

  1. Your out-of-state driver’s license
  2. One form of primary identification. For instance, your birth certificate or passport
  3. Social Security Card (original). But, you can also provide a Medicare/Medicaid identification card (if your SSN is followed by the letter “A”), or U.S. military form DD 214, or a W2 tax form
  4. Proof of school enrollment or graduation (if you are 18 to 19 years old). It may be the Enrollment/Exclusion form (DL1/93), GED or Graduation certificate

After that, you can take your Alabama driver’s license.

US License Lookup by State

US
License
Lookup
by
State